Primary election set for Tuesday, Aug. 26

©The Chester Telegraph – 2014

The primary election is being held next Tuesday, Aug. 26, to determine which candidates will represent their parties during the November General Election.

Seventeen offices are on each ballot and no party has put someone up for every position.

Since Vermont is an open primary state, voters will be given all four ballots, but they may cast votes only for one party’s ballot. The other three ballots will be put aside by elections officials at your poll. The parties are Progressive, Liberty Union, Republican and Democrat.

  • For Chester voters, voting will take place at Chester Town Hall, 556 Elm St., from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.
  • Andover voters can go to the polls between 8 a.m. and 7 p.m. at Andover Town Hall, 953 Weston-Andover Road.
  • Londonderry voting will take place from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the Twitchell Building, 100 Old School St. in South Londonderry.
  • Weston Town Office, 12 Lawrence Hill Road, will be open from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. for voting.
  • And Grafton Town Hall, 117 Main St., will be open from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.,  for voting.

Below is a chart of the seats, the parties and their candidates.

Primary Election 2014

Who is running for which state office, what their party is and where they are from

Progressive PartyLiberty Union PartyRepublican PartyDemocratic Party
U.S. Rep. for Congress
(vote for one)
---Matthew Andrews, PlainfieldMark Donka, Hartford
Donald W. Nolte, Derby
Donald Russell, Shelburne
Peter Welch, Norwich
Governor of Vermont
(vote for one)
---Pete Diamond, BrattleboroSteve Berry, Wolcott
Scott Milne, Pomfret
Emily Peyton, Putney
H. Brooke Paige, Washington
Peter Shumlin, East Montpelier
Lieutenant Governor
(vote for one)
Dean Corren, BurlingtonMarina Brown, CharlestonPhil Scott, Berlin---
State Treasurer
(vote for one)
---Murray Ngoima, Pomfret---Beth Pearce, Barre City
Secretary of State
(vote for one)
Ben Eastwood, MontpelierMary Alice Herbert, Putney---Jim Condos, Montpelier
Auditor of Accounts
(vote for one)
---------Doug Hoffer, Burlington
Attorney General
(vote for one)
---Rosemarie Jackowski, Bennington---H. Brooke Paige, Washington
William H. Sorrell, Burlington
State Senator
(vote for up to three)
---------John Campbell, Hartford
Richard "Dick" McCormack, Bethel
Alice W. Nitka, Ludlow
State Representative
(vote for one)
---------Leigh J. Dakin, Chester
Probate Judge
(vote for one)
---------Joanne Ertel, Woodstock
Assistant Judge
(vote for up to two)
---------Jack W. Anderson, Woodstock
Ellen Terie, Hartland
State's Attorney
(vote for one)
---------Michael Kainen, Hartford
(vote for one)
------Michael Chamberlain, Woodstock---
High Bailiff
(vote for one)
------Raymond Herb III, West WindsorMichael E. Manley, Hartford
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Filed Under: FeaturedLatest News

About the Author: Cynthia Prairie has been a newspaper editor more than 40 years. Cynthia has worked at such publications as the Raleigh Times, the Baltimore News American, the Buffalo Courier Express, the Chicago Sun-Times and the Patuxent Publishing chain of community newspapers in Maryland, and has won numerous state awards for her reporting. As an editor, she has overseen her staffs to win many awards for indepth coverage. She and her family moved to Chester, Vermont in 2004.

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.