RVTC recognizes students with awards, scholarships;
30 at RVTC earn dependability award

Zachary Tubbs was awarded

Zachary Tubbs was awarded RVTC’s Director’s Scholarship.

The River Valley Technical Center honored students at its End of the Year Celebration on Wednesday, June 1.

Students, parents and guests were treated to an outdoor barbecue followed by the awards ceremony in the Springfield High School auditorium.  Each year, one student is recognized with the Director’s Award, given to the student who best exemplifies the qualities that technical education embodies. Elliot Thompson from Springfield High School will have his name engraved on the Director’s Award plaque. He has been attending RVTC for four years, is a two-time Vermont SkillsUSA gold medalist, a national SkillsUSA gold medalist and winner of numerous awards and scholarships.

RVTC also awarded scholarships at the event. Scholarship recipients recognized are: Director’s Scholarship, Zachary Tubbs; Assistant Director’s Scholarship, Sean Malloy; Tom Leever Scholarship, Alexandria Steele; Kurt Dechen Memorial Scholarship, Mark Turco; Roger McNamara Memorial Scholarship, Calista Polidor and Jennifer Boxby.

In addition, individual program scholarships were awarded to Rebekah Ferriera and Elliot Thompson in Audio Video Production; Leviathan Hazen-Foster in Culinary Arts; Thomas Carroll and Tyler Westney in Horticulture; Zachary Tubbs in Industrial Trades; and Brooke Goodwin in Information Technology. The VSAC Vermont Honor Scholarship was awarded to Elliot Thompson.

30 at RVTC lauded for high attendance

Honored Level 1 students.

Honored Level 1 students.

River Valley Technical Center awarded the Aaron Douglas Outstanding Dependability award to 30 Level I and Level II students. The award is named in honor of a former Horticulture and Natural Resources Program student from Green Mountain Union High School who displayed outstanding dependability in the face of very challenging circumstances. Aaron was attending RVTC when he lost his battle to cancer several years ago.

To be considered for the Aaron Douglas award, a student must first have a 97 percent or better attendance rate. Students also must be prepared to work each day, dress appropriately, follow instructions, complete tasks and remains true to their word. Those who were recognized are students from

Honored Level 2 students.

Honored Level 2 students.

  • Bellows Falls Union High School: Tehya Martin, James Galpin and Hanson Muzzey.
  • Black River High School: Jason Peters.
  • Green Mountain Union High School: Brianna Hudson and William Hudson.
  • Fall Mountain Regional High School: Cooper Haskin, Madyson Moore, Haden Heath and  Walker Vose.
  • Springfield High School: Jonathan Courchesne, Alexander Naccarato, Ericka Schoff, Zeb Reardon, Katherine Moulton, Alexander Richardson, William Singleton, Joycelyn Melito, Aleksander Antosiewicz, Joshua Sherman, Rayven Hersey, Gaven Parker, Lance Robinson, Kolbi Briere, Cassidy Otis, Jennifer Anders, Calista Polidor, Haley DeCelle, Rebecka DelBove and Brandon McCutcheon.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Filed Under: Education News

About the Author: This item was edited from one or more press releases submitted to The Chester Telegraph.

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.