Spater Scholarships award $14,000 to former GMUHS students;
VSAC distributes scholarships to more than 350 statewide

The Tom Spater Scholarships awarded $14,000 in scholarships this year to two graduating Green Mountain Union High School seniors and six college students.

These scholarships are given in the name of Tom Spater, who brought his leadership to this community. He was chair of the Select Board, school board member and moderator, a Trustee at the University of Vermont, Vermont state
legislator and small business entrepreneur. He took great pleasure in encouraging others to take on leadership positions and to be involved in their community.

Sarah Janice Martel of Proctorsville and Sarah Baker of Chester, this year’s GMUHS valedictorian, are the two seniors heading to four-year colleges who have been awarded Spater scholarships. Martel will be attending the University of Southern Maine to pursue a degree in nursing. Baker will be studying science at Northeastern University, continuing on to medical school to become a doctor.

Others awarded scholarships are:
•    Alecia Rokes, a sophomore at Lehigh University
•    Jordan Stewart, a sophomore at Saint Michael’s College
•    Emily Tornquist ,a junior at Clark University
•    Rachel Martel, a junior  at Saint Michael’s College
•    Katherine McNally, a senior  at Cornish College of the Arts in Seattle
•    Jessica Ralston, a senior at Castleton State College

VSAC awarding more than $700,000 in scholarships

Vermont Student Assistance Corp. has announced it will award over $700,000 in scholarships to college-bound seniors who graduated from high school last month.

VSAC logoFunded by VSAC’s federal GEAR UP grant, each of these 350-plus high school graduates who enroll at a postsecondary institution in the fall will receive the $2,000 scholarship.

GEAR UP, or Gaining Early Awareness and Readiness for Undergraduate Programs, is a federal grant program of the U.S. Department of Education designed to increase the number of students who are prepared to enter and succeed in postsecondary education. VSAC has been awarded the GEAR UP grant since 1999 and its counselors worked with more than 3,100 middle and high school students one-on-one and in small groups in 52 schools across the state this past year. GEAR UP funding also allows VSAC to provide support to parents in the form of high school and college planning information, assistance with college and financial aid applications and career planning information for their children.

The following local students will receive the $2,000 scholarship:

Black River Union High School: Alyssa Dejesus; Caleb Wills; Earle Brown; Morgan Collins; Meghan Garrow; Taylor Gilmore; Donald Grenier; Sadie Koponen; Alyssa Letourneau; Katie Lincoln; Alden Livingston; Sullivan Miele; Henna Patel; Sabrina Robinson; Paige Wade

Fair Haven Union High School: Makayla Ackert; Ryan Alexander; McKenzie Apjohn; Kelsi Bean; Briley Blackbird; Jordyn Bolster; Rachel Casey; Kaitlyn Clark; Cara Cummings; Meriah Disorda; Megin Eaton; Sophia Hadeka; David Kitchin; Emmaline Lipka; Mollie Mortenson; Kaitlyn Pellerin; Kayla Reed; Jacqueline Szabo

Green Mountain Union High School: Sarah Baker; Emily Castillo; Matthew Chambers; Wilson Church; Kyle Cyr; Noah DiStefano; Alisha Dykes; Rylee Ewald; Thomas Foster; Robert Haseltine; Isis Hastings-Vincent; Anna Huckins; Jared Jackson; Reilly Knipes; Sarah Martel; Cooper McCoy; Heather Morse; Kaili Osier; Connor Rose; Sarah Schleimer; Hannah Sheere; Megan Spinrad; Alexandria Steele; Madison Thomas; Mary Thompson; Lucas Trask; Shane Verespy; Kaitlin Wells

Middlebury Union High School: Madelyn Gardner; Adrianna Guyette; Udai Sharma

Mill River Union High School: Amber Hoisington; Kelvey McGinnis

Springfield High School: Larry Ayer III; Alexis Bellows; Conner Benson; Parker Day; Leah Godin; Brooke Goodwin; Kelsey Gould; Samuel Grasley; Bryn Hemmings; Olivia Hoag; Geremiah Howarth; Josh Hoy; Rena Lirakis; Elizabeth MacKenzie; Samantha Metcalf; Lillianna Moore; Hannah Morancy; Calista Polidor; Zeb Reardon; Alexa Reichardt; Taitum Rivers; Arianna Rowe; Sage Scheffler; Faith Scott; Xin Shi; Jacob Silovich; Laurana Slobodnjak; Joshua Stebbins; Charissa Swan; Elliot Thompson; Benjamin Tubbs; Zachary Tubbs; Jade Twombly

Woodstock Union High School: Marah Adams; Alyssa Baker; Ian DuPont; Elise Geschardt;  Kaylie Millard; Gabrielle Rozumek; Jackson Wood

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Filed Under: Education News

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.